Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Building a boat

mark_schneidermark_schneider Member Posts: 4
I am new to cad and am trying to build a boat, I copied a design off of the public documents and now am trying to slice the individual parts and lay them flat so I can figure out how much aluminum I need and make templates, or send the a file to a cnc plasma cutter. Do you have any tips?

Answers

• Options
    philip_thomasphilip_thomas Member, Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,381
    edited June 2018
    Hello Mark Schneider - international man of mystery and the tallest man in CAD/CAM!

Mark, yes - the KIRImoto app in the appstore does this :)

"Laser mode will intelligently slice a 3D model and layout the cross sections for export to DXF or SVG."

Philip Thomas - Onshape
  • Options
    brucebartlettbrucebartlett Member, OS Professional, Mentor, User Group Leader Posts: 2,137 PRO
    What kind of boat?
    Which public doc are you starting with?
    Can you share your document?

If you are new to CAD it might be worth doing some of the Onshape stater courses to help you understand the basic concepts then applying that to your bigger project. 
    Engineer ı Product Designer ı Onshape Consulting Partner
    Twitter: @onshapetricks  & @babart1977   
  • Options