Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Feedback to my CAD lesson plans for secondary school students, grade 10-12, girls

daniel_chowdaniel_chow Member Posts: 108 ✭✭✭
Hello everyone, 

I'm a secondary school teacher here in Vancouver BC. After looking at several CAD products, I've decided to use onShape in my class to teach the basics of CAD. The reasons are obvious, its free for our needs, I don't have to install any software in my computer lab (I'm the IT guy at this school too), students can use onShape at home or any comp with the internet and a web browser, they don't have to transfer their files back and forth from home to school.

This particular class is for girls only in grades 10-12. Most of them have never heard of CAD.
We are starting from scratch. 

I've been developing some a series of lesson plans to introduce my class to the world of CAD. I would appreciate any feedback you could offer about my lessons plans (all of them are work in progress): 

Lesson 1 - What is CAD?
Lesson 2 - onShape pt 1 - Intro
Lesson 3 - onShape pt 2 - Parts Studio

The goal of lesson #1 is to gain interest and an understanding of how this technology fits into their own world. The first lesson attempts to establish a link to their own lives.