Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Inconsistency between volume, density, and mass

steve_miller691steve_miller691 Member, Developers Posts: 2
edited December 2016 in Community Support
Hi Forum,

I have a part whose volume, density, and mass calculation appear inconsistent.

See screenshot below.  I would expect Volume*Density = Mass
However, 0.001m^3 * 1.738e3 kg/m^3 does not equal 2.569kg

I am new to Onshape and am likely missing something.  
Any suggestions?

Steve Miller

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO
    edited December 2016
    I would like to able to set different unit for volume and dimensions. I use mm for dimension but for volume I would like to set m3 and m2 for area.
    //rami
  • Options
    OpenR2OpenR2 OS Professional Posts: 188 ✭✭✭
    edited December 2016
    Jason, I think Steve has identified a bug in the UI panel.

You are not actually using significant digits for the Volume are you? You are just rounding? If you were using significant figures wouldn't the panel say 1.74e-3 m^3? 0.001 m^3 only has 1 significant digit?

Also aren't you using 4 significant digits in all these panels and not 3? Doesn't 1.738e+3 have 4 significant digits?

If you do the calculation with the numbers in the panel you have 0.001m^3 * 1.738e3 kg/m^3 = 1.738Kg? This is 33% off from the correct answer.