Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How do I add threads to a hole.

matthew_piteramatthew_pitera Member, Developers Posts: 4
edited November 2017 in Community Support
Hello,
I'm new to design/OnShape and am looking for some advice. I would like to add some threads for a M3 screw into my design but cannot figure out how to. I reached community project and have found a M3 nut but am having trouble reverse engineering it. Can anyone assist me with this?
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    edited November 2017
    Hey guys, was able to figure this out thanks to YouTube. I've noticed that this had a few view and wanted to share my solution. Aside from the guy talking a little fast, the video was very informative. Between this video and multiple planes, I was able to complete my task. Hope this helps someone else. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAuh_gQofJA
  • Options
    owen_sparksowen_sparks Member, Developers Posts: 2,660 PRO
    edited November 2017
    Wow, hands up, who down voted @matthew_pitera 's question?  That was a bit harsh!

Owen S,
    Business Systems and Configuration Controller
    HWM-Water Ltd
  • Options
    Hi all.

This is a popular topic and often forms "one of the first things I must try in CAD". 

In all honesty the initial thought you should ask yourself is "do I need to model this thread?"