Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Can someone help a newbie with the shell command please?

Hi everyone, 

i am new to onshape. I am trying to design a hull of a model sailing boat (for 3d printing) on the basis of an imported STL file. I have created the hull as a solid like this:
  • Trace 3d splines over the STL (the STL is only half of the hull)
  • Create a surface by lofting over the 3d splines
  • Mirror the hull surface.
  • Create the deck and the stern.
  • Create an enclosure.
Now i try to create a shell, but it doesn't work as i expect. When i remove only the top surface, i am only able to create very thin shells (0.01mm). When I also remove the stern i can also create shells of around 5 mm but not much thinner or thicker.

I read on the forums that a common cause for shells to fail is intersecting geometries. I tried the method of splitting the part and moving the split to see where it is failing, but i can't see anything wrong.

My model is here:

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/3131c85f0fd3d7809ac8f727/w/322214c9ebfb3b5e800f398d/e/2e77eba269d0b582758770fe

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Erik

Tagged:

Best Answer

• kuifje_tintinkuifje_tintin Member Posts: 7
    Answer ✓
    Hi Neil and Mahir,

thanks for the tips! This is a good exercise!

So i tried both suggestions: