Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Import sketch/body using FS?

I'm just starting out learning FeatureScript (again) and I did the first tutorial:

https://cad.onshape.com/FsDoc/tutorials/create-a-slot-feature.html

That's making sense to me so far, and then I get to the second part of the tutorial where they add some "bumps" to the inside of the slots:

https://cad.onshape.com/FsDoc/tutorials/add-sketch-geometry.html

I get what's happening here, you're essentially coding a sketch.

What I'm after is essentially learning how to easily create a lot of furniture/plywood joints as feature scripts, things like this:

The idea is to make all of these kinds of furniture fasteners so I can make creating furniture easier. So you're wondering.. where's the question?

Well, from reading this tutorial it definitely seems like it's possible to "code" a sketch that will create the above pockets, but I'm wondering if there's a way that I can just import a sketch that I've already created? This way, the featurescript itself would be very simple, and if I wanted to update the shape/size of the pocket it would be almost no coding. That would also allow non coders to be able to update the shape of a joint.

So... Could I bring in a sketch that I've create using featurescript, or perhaps even a surface or a body, extrude and subtract it from an existing body in a model? 

Comments