Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Split Question

Hello,
I'm rather new to this world.  I became interested in learning how to use something like OnShape because of an interest in 3D printing and making printed "props" for Christmas lights.
These props can be quite large and need to be printed in "pieces" to fit on a printer bed.  The idea is to creat a basic shape ("star", "wreath", "ghost", etc) and then split that into pieces (parts).  The pieces have "dove tail" or similar type joints so they will stay together.  I have provided an example of what I mean to accomplish below.  I placed lines showing some of the places where these joint exist. 
This is not my design and I'm only showing it to illustrate what I'm trying to accompish.  

I've explored split.  I have only figured out how to split a simple ring using a plane or an extruded line through my part.  If I extrude my "dove tail" joint through my part and split using its surface, the split is not defined.  
Thank you in advance.
I apologize if my post is not appropriate.

Answers

• steve_shubinsteve_shubin Member Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2021
    I've explored split.  I have only figured out how to split a simple ring using a plane or an extruded line through my part.  If I extrude my "dove tail" joint through my part and split using its surface, the split is not defined.