Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Making Cylinder with Pillars

jsonshape18jsonshape18 Member Posts: 4
Hi there,

I am new to Onshape, but I have spent considerable time going through the tutorials on the Parts Studio and Assembly. Nevertheless, I'm really struggling with a basic construction. I'm trying to create something that looks like the attached picture, but where the large cylinder is hollowed out. I tried to follow along in the comment from which I took the picture but it assumes that you've managed to move Derived Parts into the correct positions before using a Boolean Union, but I haven't managed to do that. I've tried to transform by mate connectors and by rotation, but it's been 3 hours (mostly I'm struggling to define a proper axis about which to do a rotation) and I think there must be a better way to snap them into place.

Here (https://cad.onshape.com/documents/948202cf383d7ac3f42ac826/w/ea7d58967adf4d752c37aaaf/e/494e00a8f1a2525adb8fbc83) is my document. I am trying to move 6 or so "Pillars" in such a way as to make the hollow cylinder stand up starting at 3.75 in above the ground. Please let me know if there's some info I'm not being clear about.

Comments

• n_schoemaekern_schoemaeker Member Posts: 28 PRO
    welcome to OnShape :-)