Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Easiest way to make slot joints for laser cutting?

matt_helliwellmatt_helliwell Member Posts: 4
I'm new to OnShape (and CAD for that matter) so bear with me: what's the easiest way to make simple slot joints to slot two perpendicular pieces of wood over each other? For example to make dividers in a box, as in the image. I can create them very laboriously but is there a simple workflow I can follow or a FeatureScript that will do it for me?

Comments

• Options
    NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,401
    Add the box joint feature to your toolbar:
    https://cad.onshape.com/documents/57612867e4b018f59e4d52ce
    Also the lap joint feature may help too:
    https://cad.onshape.com/documents/578ce95de4b0e425c1f00cda
    Senior Director, Technical Services, EMEAI
  • Options
    matt_helliwellmatt_helliwell Member Posts: 4
    Thanks. I’d forgotten they were called lap joints!
  • Options
    lemon1324lemon1324 Member, Developers Posts: 223 EDU
    Not sure if you've found these yet, but I've also got a suite of laser-cut FeatureScripts I've developed:
    1. Laser Joint - automatically does finger joints for corner joints.
    2. T-Slot Joint - for when you want a removable connection - slightly less automatic
    3. Kerf Compensation - if you laser cutter (like most non-industrial laser cutters) doesn't compensate for kerf.