Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

reuse sketches and planes in other parts studios

Hello
Im a OnShape newbie ,and so i have made some data management errors . I basically modeled way to many parts in one studio,so want to go back and reorganize. I want to reuse several sketches and planes I created in the new parts studio to contain only the Master sketches. 
I know this must be really simple, and wanted to give support a brake,as well and try the forum. Thanks for any Advice

Dan

Answers

• Options
    3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO
    edited September 2017
    You can use 'Derived' to insert part or sketch from another studio.

https://cad.onshape.com/help/#derived.htm?Highlight=derived

//rami
  • Options
    daniel_wesemandaniel_weseman Member Posts: 17 PRO
    As i understand it if i use derived then the studio I remove from will then be in"control" of the sketch? I think maybe it is simplest to "copy the studio, and then delete all my other actions except the sketches and planes? 
    Thanks
  • Options
    3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO
    I'm not sure if I got the main point here, but if you derive the original sketch will be in control and derived one is driven. If you copy/duplicate there will be no strings attached and you are free to alter studios as you wish.