Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Things that frustrate/annoy me in Onshape (by a newbie)

john_smith077john_smith077 Member Posts: 175 ✭✭✭
edited January 2016 in Product Feedback
I am new to Onshape. I have been using it for a few hours and I am already finding several things are intensely frustrating!
Because: 
a) I am new and
b) because I have recently been evaluating other 3D modelers (e.g. Sketchup, Fusion 360, DesignSpark Mechanical etc)
I may bring something useful with me.

Rather than vent everywhere I thought I would start this thread. So here goes:

FRUSTATION 01. View Rotations 

Problem
Yes, isometric itself view is fine but as soon as you rotate off it (e.g. using Right-click n drag) the whole model is at an weird angle. Surely we all want to see the horizon... horizontal and the verticals vertical.  (i.e. I want to rotate around a vertical axis only - why would I ever want anything else?)
Diametric and Trimetric suffer from the same problem.  

Worse, no amount of rotating of the cube gets the Top plane horizontal.  And worse again I cant work out how to rotate the object using the right mouse button so as to get the Top plan horizontal.