Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

what are drawings for?

noah_saxeniannoah_saxenian Member Posts: 7 EDU
Hi, I'm new to onshape and I'm wondering what drawings are for. Are they for planning your design or for documenting it or what?

Tagged:

Comments

• Mitch_PricerMitch_Pricer OS Professional, Developers Posts: 27 PRO
    Drawings are meant for sending detailed reports of your design on to the shop team for manufacturing. Such as adding call-outs for something that has a specific type of threading that needs to be machined onto it, ect. They can be used for the actions you listed, but it is not their primary job.  :)
  • shashank_aaryashashank_aarya Member Posts: 265 ✭✭✭
    edited January 2016
    Drawings are mainly used for conveying the detailed manufacturing information to the shop people in such a way that everyone can easily understand. It contains every information such as dimensions, tolerance requirement, machining process, surface finish etc. in most simple manner which otherwise is very difficult to convey it without drawing.
  • 3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO
    Drawings are the standard way of printing the desing. There are global rules how information is expressed so that everybody speaks same language. They unite people who desing with 2d, 3d or even by pen&paper.

This is why we still need them though 3d representations can be a great help.