Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Learning CAD for 3D Printing

mauronicmauronic Member Posts: 9
Quick background...

I am a hobbyist who designs 3D printed parts for my drones. Believe it or not I used TinkerCAD for 6 months on my Mac. I hit the wall really early on but the advanced features that I was looking for could only be had in software > $3,000. In a fit of desperation I started looking for a used PC with SolidWorks on it. I wasn't looking forward to switching from a Mac laptop to a big, loud windows box under my desk.

Then just before dropping a boat load of cash on a "Professional CAD Workstation", I found Onshape. Exactly what I have been looking for. Along with all the disruptive innovation on the tech side, your free pricing tier makes professional grade CAD accessible to the masses - that means students and makers like me. Hats off!

So here's my question. Do you plan on hosting a webinar or creating videos for people like me who have no prior CAD background? I learned a lot from your tutorials but since there are dozens of way to do the same thing in CAD, I would like to learn "best practices" on workflows, the most effective way to organize things, best way to use constraints (I get really lost here sometimes), etc...