Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How do I position one oblong inside another oblong?

bart_harrisbart_harris Member Posts: 29
I have a small oblong that I would like to position in a big oblong, centred horizontally and offset to a fixed distance vertically. Can anyone help please?

I'm new to professional CAD and should probably take a course.
Tagged:

Best Answers

Answers

• colemancoleman OS Professional Posts: 244 ✭✭✭
    Can you please post a pencil drawing and basic dimensions and I'll model it and show you how I did it.  

• bart_harrisbart_harris Member Posts: 29
    I greatly appreciate your help. Thank you! Here is a sketch.image
  • colemancoleman OS Professional Posts: 244 ✭✭✭
    Ok simple enough.  Do you want to interior feature to be a hole or a separate part?

If a separate part...how much clearance between the two?

I'm trying to figure out what you're saying, Andrew_Troup, and will take a look as soon as I can. Thank you.

Coleman, the interior feature is a recess. I actually tried extruding it into my already extruded outer oblong but this resulted in the strangest error message I have ever encountered (see image). I was going to move onto this but clearly my intermediate knowledge of SketchUp is no match for professional software like Onshape...

• 3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO
    edited April 2015