Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Is there any reasonable way to work with complex surfaces?

AIifyAIify Member Posts: 3 PRO
Hello everyone,
Thanks for your help already in advance, I am rather new to onshape but not inexperienced with CAD.
What i intend to do is modifying and working with complex surfaces created in blender, such as hands or faces. I am looking for tools that you use to do these kinds of operations as 2D sketches and splines arent really cutting it sadly. I would need 3dimensional curves, for example to create a hat that is not exactly circular (or oval) in one plane, or for a shape that wraps around another the wrist, or even for a simple grip that is somewhat ergonomic. More specific, how do I cut a complex shape such as an (irregular sinus curve) into the circumference of a hollow tube - i cant even manage to create a sketch that cuts towards the center of a ball :/ ? How do you do these kinds of tasks? what tools do you use?

Thanks again for any help :)

Comments

• AIifyAIify Member Posts: 3 PRO
    Thank you for the very elaborate answer!
    That's great to hear, I will spend the next while working though these and seeing what works for me!
    This really helped a great deal as i am not too familiar with the community features.
  • billy2billy2 Member, OS Professional, Mentor, Developers, User Group Leader Posts: 2,014 PRO
    edited March 2019