Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Wish List for OnShape Features/Capabilities

dennis_20dennis_20 Member Posts: 87 EDU
My reference point is SolidWorks as I am sure it is for many of you.  I've been using SWX since the original 1995 version, changing the date on my computer to keep using the 30-day eval version until we bought ten seats of SWX96.  I even used the precursor to SolidWorks called DesignView.

Here is my list of features/capabilities that I am looking for in OnShape.  These are in no particular order.  As I am new to OnShape probably some of these exist and I just haven't learned enough yet to know where they are or what they are called.  Please educate me on those if you will.
1. Equivalents to the following SWX items:
   a) Toolbox (should be much, much nicer since a clean sheet development won't have the legacy problems Toolbox has)
   b) Hole Wizard (this is invaluable)
   c) Isolate command in assemblies
   d) Hide/Show and change transparency
2. Through-all cut in both directions
3. Design Table equivalency for configurations
4. Equations
5. Link to external driving files such as Excel, Google Sheets, or an equivalent
6. Motion simulation similar to adding gravity, motors, springs, cylinders, etc. that SWX can do.  Including friction would be a huge plus!
7. Materials - sets the density, properties, and appearance.  SWX does this very nicely.