Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Why can't I get along with orbiting in Onshape?

øyvind_kaurstadøyvind_kaurstad Member Posts: 234 ✭✭✭
Ok, this is probably stupid, but bear with a newbie.

I am new to professional CAD applications (counting Onshape in that category), but I have used plenty of other 3D applications, like Sketchup. Usually when orbiting a model with the mouse, it behaves intuitively.

However, in Onshape I always end up with a position/angle/tilt that I don't want, and to fix it I have to either choose a specific plane, or fiddle a lot with the mouse to get it back to how I want.

Does anyone understand what I mean? What is different with orbiting in Onshape compared to other applications?

Best Answer

Answers

• pete_yodispete_yodis OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 666 ✭✭✭
    @øyvind_kaurstad I understand.  There is something that gets me too... I end up pressing "F" on the keyboard alot to zoom fit around the model.  I think there were some posts on this... It seems like its a view rotation center thing, but I'm not entirely sure yet.
  • _Ðave__Ðave_ Member, Developers Posts: 712 ✭✭✭✭
    I don't know just what is different from other programs but I really like the way the model rotates in OnShape.
  • andrew_troupandrew_troup Member, Mentor Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭✭✭