Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

I need help with my Music Box

tarek_mustafatarek_mustafa Member Posts: 40 ✭✭
Hi Onshape Forum,
I started to model a Music Box (Crank Box) and reached my limits. I am new to CAD and don't know how to realise the following:

1. How can I get pins on the cylinder (Doesn't need be accurate, just random pins across the cylinder)
2. Is there a way to add a plane in the middle of the cylinder in order to mirror the yellow part?(Pic. 2) I only managed to get a plane in the wrong direction.
3. I see in many Onshape sample files screws and screw wholes. Is it common to import screws from e.g. GrabCAD and make the wholes in Onshape or how is this normally done?

I have made the model (Musik Box) public now and hope you can help me to answer above questions.

Thank you and best regards,
Tarek

Best Answers

Answers

• Options
    Great Thank you Jake! Question 2 is answered.
  • Options
    Fantastic! I would definitely not be able to come up with this myself. Will check now and let you know the outcome. Thank you.
  • Options
    3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO
    edited May 2015
    I have another approach: