Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape, CAD, maker project and design.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:

  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Tips and tricks 2018

3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,287 PRO
edited February 2018 in Using Onshape
To begin with, check tips & tricks 2017
https://forum.onshape.com/discussion/5936/tips-and-tricks-2017

Please add any new shortcuts, hidden features and usability inventions here  :)

Remember to bookmark :star: page since forum rolls out pretty quickly these days! 
//rami

Comments

  • 3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,287 PRO
    edited February 2018
    I'll start with one to make Onshape more like desktop program using Chrome (and windows, someone can confirm if it works on other platforms).

    1. Open Onshape main page (or whatever you wan't to land) into Chrome.
    2. Hit three dots on top right to open menu --> More tools --> Add to desktop


    3. Check 'Open as window' on confirm dialog and Onshape will open without normal browser menus and provide more room for modeling!

    4. You will find nice Onshape icon on your desktop which you can drag to quick launch toolbar


    If you have some documents you need to access often, repeat this while document is open and drag shortcut under Onshape in toolbar, you will have quick access using RMB on quick launch logo. 

    Same procedure works for any webpage (sheets, docs, erp)
    //rami
  • konstantin_shiriazdanovkonstantin_shiriazdanov Member Posts: 784 ✭✭✭✭
    when you design a flat leverage mechanism that have to take certain positions, it is usefull to draw a layout sketch with the both start and end positions, set the equality constrain on corresponding linkages, set dimension constraints and let sketch solver to find the dimensions of all the other geometry.


  • MBartlett21MBartlett21 Member Posts: 1,254 EDU
    If your graphics are going slow and you would like them to go a bit faster, choose the "Shaded without edges" option in the view dropdown list.
    This still works because you can select edges in that mode.
    MB - I make FeatureScripts: view FS (My FS's have "Official" beside them)
  • john_mcclaryjohn_mcclary Member, Developers Posts: 1,333 PRO
    Select 2 or more parts from the parts list in a part studio, then click "show all" at the top

    Now you can modify all of the parts in a studio at once without having to go thru the full document in "workspace properties"

    /* Hint, bulk rename in part studio */





  • MBartlett21MBartlett21 Member Posts: 1,254 EDU
    @john_mcclary
    You can also right-click on the Part Studio tab, select properties, then expand using the arrow in the dialog
    MB - I make FeatureScripts: view FS (My FS's have "Official" beside them)
  • john_mcclaryjohn_mcclary Member, Developers Posts: 1,333 PRO
    Just found out by accident, You can copy parts/assemblies from one assembly; and paste it into another without using the insert dialogue.

    Includes mates

    Only works in the same browser tab.
  • brucebartlettbrucebartlett Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 1,726 PRO
    Just found out by accident, You can copy parts/assemblies from one assembly; and paste it into another without using the insert dialogue.

    Includes mates

    Only works in the same browser tab.
    yes, I do this all the time. You can also copy and paste parts of sketches with constraints attached. 
    Engineer ı Product Designer ı Onshape Consulting Partner
    Twitter: @onshapetricks  & @babart1977   
  • bruce_williamsbruce_williams Member, Developers Posts: 275 PRO
    3dcad said:
    I'll start with one to make Onshape more like desktop program using Chrome (and windows, someone can confirm if it works on other platforms).

    1. Open Onshape main page (or whatever you wan't to land) into Chrome.
    2. Hit three dots on top right to open menu --> More tools --> Add to desktop


    3. Check 'Open as window' on confirm dialog and Onshape will open without normal browser menus and provide more room for modeling!

    4. You will find nice Onshape icon on your desktop which you can drag to quick launch toolbar


    If you have some documents you need to access often, repeat this while document is open and drag shortcut under Onshape in toolbar, you will have quick access using RMB on quick launch logo. 

    Same procedure works for any webpage (sheets, docs, erp)
    Seems this 'Open as window' no longer works - anybody know how to do this with latest versions of Chrome?    'Add to desktop...' is changed to 'Create shortcut...'  but there is no check box for 'Open as window'.    I had a shortcut working from 3dcad instructs but broke it and can't figure how to do it again.  That is really nice way to use OS...

  • MBartlett21MBartlett21 Member Posts: 1,254 EDU
    @bruce_williams
    If you create the shortcut, you can then go into your chrome apps and right click, and click "Open as window"
    MB - I make FeatureScripts: view FS (My FS's have "Official" beside them)
  • bruce_williamsbruce_williams Member, Developers Posts: 275 PRO
    @MBartlett21

    That is it!  I searched Internet 1/2 hour and could not find.  I just had to recreate the shortcuts from the Chrome Apps.  Thank you!!
Sign In or Register to comment.